Taieri players selected for South Island tournament


Eight players from the Taieri Junior Cricket Club have been selected in the Dunedin girls and boys teams to play in the South Island Primary Schools Tournament next month.
Six Taieri players were selected in the girls’ team and two in the boys’ team.
Thomas Andrews and Ollie Ritchie were selected in the boys’ team and Kate Hanna, Caitlin Scherp, Hannah Wilson, Jaymee Meffan, Abby Harris and Laney Whitson in the girls’ team.
There are two girls teams in the Taieri club and president Scott Wilson said this had helped the club develop talent among girl players of the sport.
“That’s probably led to us being able to put some good numbers into the trials and then get some good talent through in the girls side.”
Sometimes the option of playing in a full girls team encouraged girls to get involved.
“When they are presented with a full girls team, sometimes that’s the thing that gets them over the line.”
There were also a number of girls who played alongside boys in the same teams at the club.
The key to the Taieri club’s player numbers and player selection in representative sides was the effort the club had made in trying to foster an environment where children could enjoy their cricket first and foremost.
“If we make the experience good for the kids one year, we do see the growth because families enjoy it, then they bring their next siblings along or pull some friends along.”
The club also tried to keep close contact with parents.
“We’ve tried to communicate well with the parents and just keep connected to everybody.”
The South Island primary schools boys tournament will be held in Timaru, from January 9-13, and the girls tournament will be held in Christchurch, from January 27-29.