Squash club of the year


Pirates Squash Club members (from left) Amy Coleman, new member liaison Stacey Hitchcox, secretary Matt Morton, president Gareth van Coller, vice-president Phil Watts and treasurer Chris Fergusson with the Squash New Zealand club of the year award. The club was given the award at a prizegiving in Auckland last month. Mr Morton said a few years ago the club had been going “downhill” but it was now “rocketing forward”. He put that down to a change in mindset by the committee, which had invested half of its savings into the club to purchase new systems and start renovations. Membership has grown from about 80 in 2017 to about 130 at present. Mr Morton was “elated” the club had won the award, as it was vindication that all their hard work had paid off. PHOTO/REPORT: JESSICA WILSON