Otago girls make touch history

Gold medal winners . . . The under 18 girl's team after winning their final, pictured are (back, from left) Dayna Turnbull (Coach), Jasmine Hunter (17), Amelia Scully (16), Sarah Langsbury (14), Kate Macbeth (17), Jessica Faulks (17), Bridget Johnstone (17), Kaye Sycamore (Manager). (Front, from left) Meg Sycamore (16), Beryn Abbott (16), Hannah McStay (17), Olivia O'Neill (17), Olivia George (17), Paige Flett (14), McKayler Moore (17), Mike Wheeler (Physio). PHOTO: SUPPLIED

Otago touch players came home with huge grins on their faces after competing in the national junior touch championships in Auckland last weekend, even if the playing field did turn into a pond.

The Otago Touch Association fielded four teams at the national event – under 18 girls and boys and under 16 girls and boys.

Otago touch game development manager Grant Milne said all players reached their maximum potential throughout the tournament despite the unfavourable conditions.

” It absolutely poured the whole time .. not great touch playing weather”, he said.

The under 18 girls were the stars for Otago, winning gold in their category, the first title won by an Otago team at the junior touch nationals since the competition started in 2011.

They were unable to play their final due to wet conditions but had beaten the other finalist, Waikato 7-4 early in the tournament.

The under 16 girls also did well, winning silver medals while the under 16 boys were seventh and under 18 boys ninth.

Mr Milne said he expected many Otago players would be selected to trial for the New Zealand team to play at the Youth World Cup in Malaysia later this year.