Dunedin schools dominate


Dunedin swimmers dominated the Otago secondary school swimming championships last Sunday.

Held at Moana Pool, 107 pupils from 20 schools lined up to compete.

Swimming Otago support officer Kerren Keach was pleased to see a slight increase in swimmers compared with last year.

“They were great as normal – a credit to their school.”

There were some great swimmers in the region, including many national record-holders and some who recently competed at the national age group championships, Keach said.

The organisation aimed to create pathways for swimmers to help them achieve at a high level, she said.

Dunedin winners included Otago Girls’ High School (OGHS) pupil Madison Wills (15) who collected five titles.

Competing in the girls 15+ grade, she won the 200m, 100m and 50m breaststroke, and 200m and 100m individual medley races.

Representing St Hilda’s Collegiate School in the same grade, Jessica Scott (16) won the 200m, 100m and 50m butterfly, Nicole Heaton (17) claimed the 100m backstroke, Olivia Andrew (16) the 50m backstroke, while Molly Whittaker (14) won the girls 14 and under 200m breaststroke.

OGHS pupil Jemma Wilson (15) finished first in the girls 15+ 100m and 50m freestyle.

Jemma and Madison, along with Charlotte Underwood-Nicol (15) and Esme Paterson (17), won the girls 200m medley relay.

also teamed up with Charlotte Hewson (15) to win the girls 200m freestyle relay.

Kavanagh College pupil Emma Christophers (14) also won gold in the girls 14 and under 200m and 50m backstroke, and 200m, 100m and 50m freestyle.

Columba College pupil Jordan Summers (16) won the girls 15+ 200m backstroke and 200m freestyle.

John McGlashan College pupils dominated the boys events.

In the boys 15+ grade, David Cannon (17) won the 100m and 200m breaststroke, Timothy Chirnside (17) won the 50m freestyle, Li Yanhoo (17) won the 50m breaststroke and 50m butterfly, Oliver Walker (17) won the 100m butterfly, Geoffrey Kemp (17) won the 100m and 200m freestyle, and Grayson Westgate won the 200m individual medley.

Oliver, David, Geoffrey and Tom Gold teamed up to win the boys 200m medley relay and 200m freestyle relay.

Sam Cottier won the boys 14 and under 50m backstroke.

The next schools competition is the New Zealand secondary schools, which will be held in September.