It’s nomination time


Nominations for individual (non-party) electorate candidates for the September 23 election open today and close at noon on Tuesday.

Candidates must be nominated by two voters enrolled in the electorate to be contested.

Candidates cannot nominate themselves or stand for more than one electorate.

Only registered political parties can make a bulk nomination of electorate candidates. This is where a party secretary nominates all the electorate candidates representing the party by lodging a bulk nomination schedule with the Electoral Commission’s National Office.

The bulk nomination of electorate candidates must be lodged with the commission no later than noon on Monday, August 28.

To stand for election, candidates must be enrolled as a voter, be a New Zealand citizen and not be disqualified from enrolling.

The main grounds of disqualification are being a New Zealand citizen outside New Zealand who has not been in New Zealand within the last three years or being in prison serving a prison sentence.

Dunedin North and Dunedin South are the two general electorates in Dunedin. Maori electorate Te Tai Tonga includes Dunedin.

In the 2014 general election, eight candidates stood in the Dunedin South electorate, nine in Dunedin North and six in Te Tai Tonga.

Several candidate forums will be held in Dunedin over the next two weeks.

Advance voting starts on Monday, September 11.


Shout Out for Health at the Dunedin Candidates Forum

When: Today, 7.30pm

Where: Pioneer Hall in Port Chalmers

The forum will be an opportunity to discuss health funding issues with representatives of the major parties.

Maori Hill Candidates Evening

When: Thursday, August 31, 7.30pm

Where: Maori Hill Community Centre, 607 Highgate

Dunedin North candidates:

Niki Bould, Green Party

Warren Voight, New Zealand First

David Clark, Labour Party

Michael Woodhouse, National Party

Sam Purchas, Act NZ

My Vote Counts Disability Election Issues Forum 2017

When: Tuesday, September 5, 6pm-7.30pm

Where: Blind Foundation Hall, 458 Hillside Rd, South Dunedin

Chairman-MC: Prof Mark Henaghan, University of Otago

Candidates from Act, Green, Labour, National and New Zealand First will be present.

New Zealand Sign Language interpreter available.

A fish and chip dinner option (please bring cash) will be available plus tea and coffee after the forum.

Inquiries to Chris Ford on 476-7579 or 027 696-0872, email: or Debbie Webster on 471-6152, email:

Election forum on climate change and the environment

When: September 6, 7pm.

Where: Room G106, G Block, Otago Polytechnic, Union St East.

Dunedin South Labour Party candidate David Clark, Dunedin South National Party candidate Matt Gregory, Dunedin South Green Party candidate Shane Gallagher and Dunedin North Democrats for Social Credit candidate Miriam Mowat will discuss the issues. (Other speakers are to be confirmed.)