Hanover Hall to host theatre awards

Finalists . . . The Globe Theatre's production of Shakespeare's Richard II, with Alfred Richardson (left) as the King, and Cheyne Jenkinson as Henry Bolingbroke, is a finalist in several categories of the 2019 Dunedin Theatre Awards. PHOTO: KIERAN SOMERVILLE

Dunedin will celebrate the year’s achievements and most exciting moments at Monday’s 10th annual Dunedin Theatre Awards.

Presented by the Dunedin Theatre Reviewers’ Collective, the awards recognise outstanding talent and cover an array of skills from theatre design to acting and directing.

The awards will be hosted in the elegantly refurbished Hanover Hall, home to the Dunedin Symphony Orchestra, with doors opening at 5.30pm and the ceremony starting at 6pm.

Master of ceremonies will be Dunedin theatre stalwart Barry Dorking, and the awards will be presented by “living taonga” Louise Petherbridge.

The Dunedin Theatre Reviewers’ Collective, which comprises Terry MacTavish, Helen Watson White, Barbara Frame, Brenda Harwood and Kimberley Buchan, will recognise a wide range of Dunedin productions and the resilience of local theatre companies at the ceremony.

“The extraordinary breadth and quality of the theatre we have seen this year has made selecting the finalists and award-winners very difficult,” collective member Terry acTavish said.

“It has been heartening to see the continuing strength of local theatre, despite the closure of the Fortune Theatre last year.”

Finalists in the outstanding performance category (multiple awards) are Orion Carey-Clark, Nick Dunbar, Helen Fearnley, Kelly Hocking, Abby Howells, Cheyne Jenkinson, Michael Metzger, Sam Shannon, Craig Storey, and Laura Wells.

Finalists in the script/narrative category are Emily Duncan (Le Sujet Parle), Abby Howells (White Men), Simon OOwen (The Toy Factory Fire), Pete Stewart and Kiri Bell Greta: A Journey).

Finalists in the outstanding visiting production category are A Doll ‘s House (Twist Productions), Kotuku and the Moon Child (Birdlife Productions), Measure for Measure (Pop Up Globe), Mr Red Light (Nightsong), Still Life With Chickens (Auckland Theatre Company).

Finalists in the director of the year category are Bryan Aitken (The Mikado), Ruth Carraway (Trouble-D), Lara Macgregor (The Flick), Keith Scott (Richard II), Sofie Welvaert (Crunchy Silk), and Alex Wilson (The Bald Soprano).

Finalists in the production of the year category are The Bald Soprano (Arcade), The Flick (Wow!), The Mikado (Opera Otago), Ophelia Thinks Harder (Globe), and Richard II (Globe).